Ohio's Probationary Driver's License for under age 18
If you are under the age of 18, you can get a driver's license but it will be restricted-a probationary license under the provisions of Ohio Revised Code Section 4507.071. The law states that you can get the probationary license at age 16 if you have had a temporary learning permit for at least 6 months. So you can apply for your license 6 months after you obtain your learner's permit. If you get your learners permit 1 month before you turn 16 then you will still have to wait 6 months more to apply for your probationary license.
(Click HERE for the full text of 4507.01)
The Revised Code Section lists a number of restrictions that apply to drivers under 18.
If you are under age 17:
No driving between the hours of 12:00 midnight and 6:00 AM. (there is a work exception if certain criteria is met)
No driving with more than one non-family member passenger.
If you are 17 years of age but not 18:
No driving between the hours of 1:00 AM and 5:00 AM. (there is a work exception)